September 21

Wednesday, September 21

1.Read the article and then take the test: http://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2016/09/20/insider/approve-or-reject-moderation-quiz.html?smid=fb-nytimes&smtyp=cur&_r=1

 

 

2. Read over the commenting guidelines below…

 

Commenting Guidelines:

  • Comments should be at least 2-5 sentences, not less.
  • Write comments that add to the conversation. Ask a question. Provide a link that might clarify a point. Copy/paste a passage that interests you then write your comments and questions.
  • Read the article. Read all the comments. Be part of the full discussion.
  • Use comments to show what you think is important, interesting, controversial, thoughtful.
  • Constructive criticism only. Critique the idea, not the person. Being derogatory or inflammatory distracts the conversation. Respect other people and their opinions and ideas.
  • Use good grammar and spelling. Mistakes cause readers to focus on how you write, not your ideas.
  • Treat people the way you want to be treated.

In addition, these response prompts for comments, from Scattergood Biology, also might be helpful for studetns to keep on topic and ensure high quality comments:

  • This made me think about “¦
  • I wonder why “¦
  • Your writing made me form an opinion about “¦
  • This post is relevant because “¦
  • Your writing made me think about “¦
  • I wish I understood why “¦
  • This is important because “¦
  • Another thing to consider “¦
  • I can relate to this “¦
  • I don’t understand “¦
  • I was reminded that “¦
  • I found myself wondering “¦

 

 

 

3. Please read and respond to AT LEAST THREE of your classmates’ blog posts from yesterday.


Posted September 21, 2016 by mrklauber in category Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*